The Waiting Game Continues

July 10, 2008 at 10:45 am Leave a comment

After finishing up my MAT work in April and teaching for the year in June, I’ve had plenty of time to relax and prepare for the upcoming transition to parenthood.  The nursery is painted, and all the adorable little baby clothes are washed and organized.  All the cupboards have been scrubbed and reorganized, the freezer has been stocked with quick and easy foods (thank heaven for Costco!), and the bags for the hospital are ready.  Heck, I even have half of my labor knitting project complete!  (Now that I mention that, I might need to go cast on for another pair of socks to get me through early labor…) With all the preparations done, the wait to meet our little one is starting to drag on.  And on.  And on….

I fully acknowledge that first babies typically arrive after their due date, but I’ve been clinging to some major hopes that our little peanut will make her debut early.  With only 3 days until the due date, though, it seems like Janae’s running out of time to do so.  (I’m consoling myself that she must be running on “Spain time” instead of how we do things in the US.  She’s a future Spaniard-at-heart, I can just feel it!)

So, today at 1:45 we’re off to the doctor for a check up to make sure everything is on track and going well.  Hopefully we’ll find out that everything looks good, and that Janae might make her debut tonight.  (It’s amazing how optimistic/disconnected from reality I can be sometimes!)  Adding to my delusions is a dream that my grandma that baby will come on the 10th.  I keep crossing my fingers hoping that her dream was correct and that the 10th (today) will be the big day!  We’ll just have to wait and see…

Hopefully the next post you read will be Jeff and I announcing our new daughter, complete with tons of cute baby pictures!

Entry filed under: Kim. Tags: .

La Jungla finally finished! Practicing patience

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



